Home Deep Sea About Us Contact Us Search

Deepseawaters HomeDeep Sea CreaturesDeep Sea Sharks

Deep Sea Sharks

Sharks are a valuable part of marine ecosystems. Most sharks are vulnerable to overfishing because they are long-lived, take many years to mature, and only have a few young at a time. Recovery from overfishing can take years or decades for many shark species.

About 350 species of sharks occur worldwide. Sharks are primarily oceanic and are widespread in tropical to temperate zones. Sharks vary greatly in size. The largest species, also the largest of all fishes, is the plankton eating giant the Whale Shark (Rhincodon typus). The largest measured specimen was 12.65 m long and weighed 21.5 tonnes, but the Whale Shark probably attains 18 metres. Some of the deepwater shark species attain only about 25cm.

Types of Sharks

Atlantic Sharpnose Shark
Angel Shark
Basking Shark
Black Dogfish Shark
Blue Shark
Brown Smoothhound
Chain Catshark
Dusky Shark
Dwarf Gulper Shark
False Cat Shark
Frill Shark
Gray Smoothhound Shark
Great Hammerhead Shark
Great White Shark
Goblin Shark
Lemon Shark
Leopard Shark
Megamouth Shark
Nurse Shark
Porbeagle Shark
Portuguese Shark
Rough Sagre Shark
Sand Tiger Shark
Shortfin Mako Shark
Shovelnose Guitarfish
Smooth Dogfish Shark

Spiny Dogfish Shark
Thresher Shark
Tiger Shark
Whale Shark
Whitetip Reef Shark
Wobbegong Shark
Zebra Shark



Copyright 2014 www.deepseawaters.com